Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been back home in Hamburg for almost a week now, but I quickly wanted to tell you about the things I discovered during my last week in Leipzig.

During the week I didn’t do anything too exciting. I went to the movies and watched “De rouille et d’os”, a very very emotionally intense french movie by Jacques Audiard. If you haven’t watched it yet – I highly recommend doing so!

Image

On Thursday night I baked chocolate-cranberry muffins in the tiled stove. I made them as a thank you for the nice people at the office and my flatmates. They turned out so yummy! Comment if you’d like to see the recipe.

I have been looking forward to friday for so long! Friday was the day my boyfriend arrived in Leipzig to spend my final weekend there with me ๐Ÿ™‚ We went to explore Leipzig together, visited another motet-concert in St. Thomas Church on Saturday afternoon, had dinner at Sol y Marย which was really yummy (we had a variety of different tapas, antipasti and cheese) and went to the Vodkaria afterwards, which is just around the corner. Guys, let me tell you: If you like vodkaImage, you need to visit that place! Their range of different longdrinks, shots, cocktails etc. is amazing! The so called “Polnischer Geheimtipp” was my favourite for the night, but I’ll definitely go back to try more of their drinks. It’s a great place to hang out at the bar or eat a little something, I loved that there’s so much to look at.

On Sunday we went to the “Vรถlkerschlachtdenkmal” or “Monument to the Battle of the Nations”. It is celebrating its 100th birthday this year and is therefore being renovated at the moment. Still, it is breathtaking! The huge granite and sandstone guards you see on the outside and in the Imagecrypt make you feel small and insignificant; the detailing in the dome makes you want to travel back in time to watch the artists build this monument. On it’s highest point you find yourself 91m above the city with a beautyful view all around. It’s really a must-see when you’re a tourist in Leipzig and was the perfect way for me to end my stay. Before we headed back to Hamburg we went to have lunch at the ร‰picerie Petite Mariekeย one more time. Needless to say it was delicious as always.

Well guys, that was my little series about Leipzig for now! I hope you liked it and will try some of the things out if you ever go to Leipzig – which you should, it’s a very interesting city!

